Project: Refurbishment of historic convent and conversion to school administrative centre
Completed: June 2008
The historic convent was opened in 1884 as a permanent home for the Presentation nuns operating a private Catholic boarding school for girls. The building was constructed in Barrabool freestone over bluestone foundations, with a steep slate roof in a gothic style with gable ends and pointed arched windows, arcading and entrances. May Constructions was entrusted with the task of refurbishing the building and converting it to a modern administration centre for the School. Meticulous attention was paid to preserving, restoring and reusing many of the original materials such as skirtings, timbers, doors, mouldings and fixtures. A decorative tiled mosaic laid in the main entrance foyer was revealed and carefully restored. A specialist heritage painter was engaged to ensure that every painted surface was in keeping with the building’s antiquity. May Constructions’ experience in restoring other heritage buildings was invaluable in re-purposing the building while preserving its history.